Visiting scholars

Scholar positions for visiting guest lecturers/academics

The visiting scholars strengthen the academic team of SECCLO. The scholars are invited to contribute to the Summer School, but also to other teaching activities at the consortium member universities. SECCLO scholars may contribute to activities such as:

  • Teaching activities in regular courses, guest lectures, workshops and seminar courses
  • Thesis guidance and tutoring of students, supervision and tutoring of doctoral students
  • Development tasks related to SECCLO programme, e.g. teaching content or course evaluations
  • Research activities, working on publications with SECCLO staff
  • Promotion of SECCLO at the scholar’s home university and country

A visiting scholar is an academic and/or professional individual of outstanding experience who carries out teaching and research assignments and scholarly work in the institutions participating in the SECCLO programme. A good command of English is required: the language of instruction in the SECCLO is English.

  • Scholars can be academics, guest lecturers or researchers from either Consortium partner universities or other higher education institutions that do not participate in the Consortium
  • Scholars from non-academic partners can also be invited especially if they contribute in bridging academic and professional content and provide special information / training to the students or have a specific relevant input for the course curriculum.


The scholarship is decided by the consortium on case-by-case basis and the length of the vising period. The selected scholars/guest lecturers will be offered a scholarship to cover travel, accommodation and other living cost (no salary costs). The estimates for scholar scholarships are the following:

Duration EU Non-EU
1 week (4-7 days) 1700 EUR 2000 EUR
2 weeks + 100 EUR / day
3 weeks to be agreed

These are estimates and can be otherwise agreed depending on the scholarly work agreed and if the scholar is from programme or partner country, from our consortium partner university or outside of the consortium.

Timing and length of the scholar activity

The minimum duration of the stay is 4-7 consecutive days (one week). The length of the stay is agreed with the hosting institution. The exact timing of the stay is to be agreed between the selected scholar and the hosting institution.

Application and selection procedure

The interested scholar candidates are asked to contact the following SECCLO key academics to discuss your areas of expertise and make a suggestion how to contribute to SECCLO programme teaching and other activities. As you are expected to bring added value to our students, please check here our programme contents:

Academic contact persons:

  • Aalto: Professor Tuomas Aura
  • KTH: Associate professor Markus Hidell
  • DTU: Associate professor Flemming Stassen
  • NTNU: Professor Danilo Gligoroski
  • UT: Professor Dominique Unruh
  • Eurecom: Professor Davide

These academic contact persons make the proposal for SECCLO consortium committee of potential candidates. If accepted, the scholar candidate will receive a webropol link to be filled in + cv + workplan to be submitted.

For further information on the application process, please contact:

Eija Kujanpää
Manager of International Relations
Aalto University, School of Science
phone +358-50-5373355

Previous visiting scholars in the SECCLO programme

Scholars listed by the calendar year


Teaching Professor of Law and Attorney Jordan Fischer
Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law, United States

Summer School 27.4.-30.4.2020, EURECOM, France



Summer School in Blockchain Technologies 20.5.-24.5.2019, NTNU, Norway

Professor Danilo Gligoroski
University of South Florida, United States

Lecturer and Assistant Professor Arthur Gervais
Imperial College London, United Kingdom

Post Doctoral Researcher Liu Jian
UC Berkeley, United States

>>Previous visiting scholars in the NordSecMob programme

Scholars listed by the year of annual funding contract


Associate Professor Zhonghong Ou
Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China

Associate Professor Alla Levina
ITMO University, Russia

Assistant Professor Janne Lindqvist
Rutgers University, United States

Associate Professor Mohammad Mannan
Concordia University, Canada


Associate Professor Yongzhi Cao
Peking University, China

Associate Professor Manuel Mazzara
Innopolis University, Russia


Assistant Professor Igor Mishkovski
University “Sveti Kiril & Metodij”, Skopje, Macedonia

Assistant Professor Marija Mihova
University “Sveti Kiril & Metodij”, Skopje, Macedonia

Professor Xinyu Feng
University of Science and Technology of China


Professor Sergey Bezzateev
St.Petersburg State University of Aerospace Instrumentation, St. Petersburg, Russia

Research Assistant Shuling Wang
Institute of Software, Chinese Academy of Sciences (ISCAS), Beijing, China

Professor Zhu Huibiao
Software Engineering Institute, East China Normal University, Shanghai, China

Distinguished Chair Professor Kishor Trivedi
Duke University, United States


Professor Vladimir Mazalov (scholar period in autumn 2012)
Institute of Applied Mathematical Research, Petrozavodsk, Russia

Associate Professor Vassil Dimitrov
University of Calgary, Canada

Associate Professor Chittaranjan Hota
Birla Institute of Technology & Science, Pilani Hyderabad Campus, India

Associate Professor Geguang Pu
Software Engineering Institute of East China Normal University, China

Associate Professor Yan Yan
College of Computing & Communication Engineering, Graduate University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


Associate Professor Vassil Dimitrov
University of Calgary, Canada

Associate Professor Min Zhang
East China Normal University, China


Associate Professor Yong Cui
Tsinghua University, China

Professor Dinh Thuc Nguyen
Ho Chi Minh City University of Science, Vietnam

Dr. Lawrence Brown
Australian Defence Force Academy, Australia

Associate Professor Hong Luo
Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications (BUPT), China

Associate Professor Chittaranjan Hota
Birla Institute of Technology & Science, Pilani Hyderabad Campus, India

Professor Wang Wengdong
Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications (BUPT), China

Professor Smile Markovski
Institute of Informatics, SS Cyril and Methodius University, Macedonia