Scholarship and fees

The Erasmus Mundus scholarships are offered for the best selected students in each student intake. Our next application period opens on 25 November 2019.

Erasmus Mundus scholarship grants

Students from programme countries Students from partner countries
Contribution to participation costs €3000/year €9000/year
Contribution to travel costs €1000/year

€2000/year if residence is less than 4000 km from Aalto University*

€3000/year if residence is 4000 km or more from Aalto University*

Contribution to installation costs €1000/year
Contribution to subsistence costs (max 24 months) €1000/month €1000/month
€32000 €47000/ €49000
Programme countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein,  Lithuania, Luxembourg, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom.
Partner countries are all countries not listed in the programme countries.
*) Travel costs depend on the place of residence at the time of scholarship application. See distance calculator.

Applicants will be considered as either partner or programme country students as follows:

  • Partner country students
    • citizens of partner countries who have not carried out their main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in a programme country.
  • Programme country students
    • citizens of programme countries.
    • citizens of partner countries who have carried out their main activity for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in a programme country.

Erasmus Mundus scholarships in the 2020 student intake

Name of the scholarship
To whom
Number of scholarships offered
Partner Country Scholarship All non-EU citizens who have not studied or worked in a programme country for more than 12 months over the last 5 years 16
Partner Country Scholarship: Asia-LDC Applicants from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Nepal 4
Partner Country Scholarship: Latin-America: Brazil and Mexico Applicant from Brazil or Mexico 1
Programme Country Scholarship All EU citizens and citizens of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Norway, Serbia, and Turkey.

Non-EU citizens who have studied or worked in a programme country for more than 12 months over the last 5 years

Altogether 25
Further rules concerning Erasmus Mundus Scholarships (click to open)
  • Students with a double nationality (of a partner and of a programme country) must specify the nationality under which they submit their scholarship application.
  • Candidates are not allowed to apply for scholarship for more than 3 Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree (EMJMD) Programmes for the same academic year. It is possible to apply at the same time for an Erasmus + Scholarship and as self-funded students with one application. In this case, candidates are considered self-funded applicants, if they are not selected for an Erasmus + Scholarship.
  • Students who have already obtained an EMJMD scholarship or are former Erasmus Mundus Master/Doctoral scholarship holders are not eligible for an additional scholarship under the EMJMD action. Students benefiting from an EMJMD scholarship cannot benefit from another EU grant while pursuing their EMJMD studies.
  • Scholarship holders spending part of the EMJMD course in their country of residence are not entitled to benefit from the monthly subsistence allowance for this period.
  • The monthly subsistence allowance is not given to scholarship holders from a partner country for the EMJMD periods exceeding three months spent in any partner country (for example, thesis preparation, internship).


Other scholarships offered

  • Helsinki-Aalto Center for Information Security (HAIC) participation cost scholarships for programme country students.
  • Participation cost scholarships for female programme country students (NTNU scholarship)
  • SECCLO consortium scholarships (number and availability subject to available resources).

Applicants apply for the Erasmus Mundus, HAIC and other scholarships available when they apply to the SECCLO programme. There is no separate application process or deadlines for the scholarships. All applicants, who have applied for them are considered for the scholarships. The competitive allocation of scholarships is based on academic merit.

The applicant is informed about the scholarship decision when the selection results are published. There will be a reserve list for the Erasmus Mundus scholarships. In addition, it is always possible to join SECCLO with your own funding.

Participation costs

Students from programme countries Students from partner countries
Participation cost €3000/year €9000/year

What is included in the participation fee?

  • tuition fees: educational expenses such as courses, academic supervision, exams, counselling and university support services such as student services, use of library services and use of IT services in accordance with university regulations and policy concerning degree studies.
  • insurance: including accident and health insurance satisfying the minimum requirements as published by the EACEA in its guidelines for Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degrees.
  • compulsory summer school participation: travel and accommodation costs.

What is NOT included in the participation fee?

  • travel from and to the original country of residence
  • visa and residence permit related costs
  • travel between SECCLO consortium countries and universities
  • possible travel costs to internship positions or summer job positions, travel costs to thesis positions, if applicable
  • accommodation and personal living expenses
  • textbooks, personal computers, printers or study materials the student decides to purchase
  • any other compulsory or voluntary local costs that may be charged according to the university rules (e.g. student union fees, casing of thesis) or national legislation. For Aalto University, the compulsory Student Union fee is currently €116 for the academic year.